Wycoller Hall Ruins ‘Jane Eyre’ and the shades of ‘Ferndean Manor’: Emily’s postcard from Lancashire

I’m currently immersed in Brontë’s world, reading the letters and diaries of her friends at the Harry Ransom Center. So I was thrilled to come across this ‘postcard’ from the original ‘Ferndean Manor’ in my blog reader this week. This is part of an excellent literary tourism project that you can read more about here: https://placingtheauthor.wordpress.com/postcards/

Placing the Author

Emily's snapshot of Wycoller Hall Ruins Emily’s snapshot of Wycoller Hall Ruins

Postcard of Wycoller Hall Postcard of Wycoller Hall

Postcard of Thornfield Hall Postcard of Thornfield Hall

Postcard of Lowood School Postcard of Lowood School

Why I went…

I visited Wycoller as part of a project on Jane Eyre. My creative practice is focused on the crossing points of fact and fiction with exploration through literature; archives, location and objects. Can you be an archeologist of a fictional place? I have postcards purporting to be settings for Lowood School and Thornfield Hall. There are questions about whether Wycoller is the inspiration for Ferndean Manor and I went to see for myself. I also visited the Bronte Parsonage at Howarth. It was a gothic experience and fascinating to see Anne’s bloody handkerchief and a necklace of Emily’s twisted hair.

What I got out of the experience…

“To this house I came just ere dark on an evening marked by the characteristics of sad sky, cold gale, and continued…

View original post 137 more words

Leave a Reply

