Considering Brontë’s ‘everyday’: Angharad’s postcard from Haworth

My contribution to Placing the Author’s literary tourism ‘postcard project’.

Placing the Author

Angharad outside St Michael and All Angels Church, Haworth. Summer 2009. Angharad outside St Michael and All Angels Church, Haworth. Summer 2009.

Why I went…

I fell in love with Charlotte Brontë when I was eleven years old and read Jane Eyre and Villette in quick succession. I had always pretended to be above literary tourism so had never visited the Parsonage before. This summer, though, we were in the area just as I was thinking about how Charlotte Brontë would fit into my PhD project, which was shaping up to be more focused on life-writing – and less on novels – than I had expected. I realised that I needed to think more about how the life of the author might be interwoven with her novels.

What I got out of the experience…

As I walked through Haworth, peered into the Sunday school and wandered past the Church, Brontë became more than just an author for me. At the same…

View original post 126 more words

Leave a Reply

